List of Legislators Not Returning To #NCGA Grows [UPDATED]

NCGAThis year is seeing some wild turnover, which in turn is creating a number of crowded races as new candidates throw their hats into the General Assembly ring.

WRAL has a list, which includes the most recent drop-outs: Dan Soucek and Fletcher Hartsell.

I’ve collated them by chamber and party below.   For a full list of who IS running, check the State Board of Elections most current list. [See updates at the bottom of the article]


  1. Sen. Tom Apodaca R-Henderson
  2. Sen. Stan Bingham R-Davidson
  3. Sen. Bob Rucho R-Mecklenburg
  4. Sen. Buck Newton R-Wilson (Running for Attorney General)


  1. Sen. Josh Stein D-Wake (Running for Attorney General)


  1. Rep. Dan Bishop – R-Mecklenburg (Running for State Senate)
  2. Rep. Brian Brown  0 R-Pitt (Resigned 10/6/15)
  3. Rep. Rayne Brown –  R-Davidson
  4. Rep. Rick Catlin –  R-New Handover
  5. Rep. Leo Daughtry –  R-Johnston
  6. Sen. Fletcher Hartsell –  R-Cabarrus
  7. Rep. Bryan Holloway –  R-Stokes (Resigned 10/23/15)
  8. Rep. James Langdon Jr. –  R-Johnston
  9. Rep. Jacqueline Schaffer –  R-Mecklenburg
  10. Sen. Dan Soucek –  R-Watauga
  11. Rep. Paul “Skip” Stam –  R-Wake
  12. Rep. Roger West –  R-Cherokee
  13. Rep. Chris Whitmire –  R-Transylvania


  1. Rep. Paul Tine –  U-Dare


  1. Rep. Nathan Baskerville –  D-Vance
  2. Rep. Tricia Cotham –  D-Mecklenburg
  3. Rep. Rick Glazier –  D-Cumberland (Resigned, went to NC Justice Center 8/15/15)
  4. Rep. Ken Waddell –  D-Columbus


Carolina Journal reports on the details of this year’s filings for 2016.

RALEIGH — Gov. Pat McCrory, U.S. Sen. Richard Burr, and 2nd District U.S. Rep. Renee Ellmers are among high-profile Republican incumbents who have drawn Republican primary opponents, but 54 other candidates were, in effect, elected to the General Assembly on Monday because nobody chose to run against them from either party when filing ended.

According to the State Board of Elections filing lists, 62 Republican candidates in the House have no primary opponents, and 22 of them will run uncontested in the general election, barring write-in or unaffiliated candidate challenges. There are 74 Democrats with no primary opponents, and 19 of them will face no challenger in the general election.

In the Senate, 36 Republicans are unopposed in the primary, and 29 Democrats are unchallenged. Of those, 13 candidates will be unchallenged in the general election as well — nine Republicans and four Democrats.



About A.P. Dillon

A.P. Dillon is a freelance journalist and is currently writing at The North State Journal. She resides in the Triangle area of North Carolina. Find her on Twitter: @APDillon_
This entry was posted in ELECTIONS, LL1885, NCGA, POLITICS NC, The Articles and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.