NC Common Core Action Alert: Support HB 1061

Common Core Fighters –

On Tuesday June 3rd, the NC General Assembly’s House Education Committee will be considering HB 1061 – Replace Common Core To Meet NC’s Needs. The meeting will be at 10 am, room 643 of the Legislative Office Building.

ACTION ITEM:

Email each Representative BEFORE JUNE 3rd and ask them to support HB 1061 – Replace Common Core To Meet NC’s Needs. Below the sample letter is a list of the email contacts for the House Education Committee.

Sample Suggestion Letter:

 

Dear Representative _________,

I am a concerned citizen and I am writing to you today to urge you to support HB 1061 – Replace Common Core To Meet NC’s Needs.

This bill will serve to replace the fundamentally flawed and experimental Common Core State Standards. The Common Core is an age and developmentally inappropriate set of standards which lack rigor and are unproven and untested. 

Contrary to the Fordham Institute’s grading report, North Carolina did not have worse standards than Common Core. The Fordham Grading report is a sham. This Grading report has been called into question in multiple states, yet continues to be referenced as proof we need Common Core. It’s worth noting that Fordham Grading report was requested and funded by the Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation, who has pushed hundreds of millions into promoting Common Core.

The Common Core is copyrighted by two D.C. trade organizations. This copyright dictates NC cannot alter the standards, must adhere to them 100% and may only add up to 15% in new content. That new content will not be tested on.

Common Core Standards are not higher standards, they are experimental standards that are not under NC’s control and will cost the state taxpayers an estimated $641.9 million to keep and maintain them over the next 5 years. 

Bottom line: We need appropriate and vetted NC State Standards. Our children deserve standards crafted in our state, are under the control of our state and that make sense for NC schools.

Become a champion for real education and for North Carolina’s children. Please support HB 1061 – Replace Common Core To Meet NC’s Needs and help NC free itself from the increasing outside control that Common Core exerts on our state and our children.

 Contact information:

Name District Party EMAIL
Adams, Alma 58 D Alma.Adams@ncleg.net
Arp, Dean 69 R Dean.Arp@ncleg.net
Bell, Larry 21 D Larry.Bell@ncleg.net
Brandon, Marcus 60 D Marcus.Brandon@ncleg.net
Brown, Brian 9 R Brian.Brown@ncleg.net
Bryan, Rob 88 R Rob.Bryan@ncleg.net
Bumgardner, Dana 109 R Dana.Bumgardner@ncleg.net
Carney, Becky 102 D Becky.Carney@ncleg.net
Cleveland, George 14 R George.Cleveland@ncleg.net
Collins, Jeff 25 R Jeff.Collins@ncleg.net
Cotham, Tricia 80 D Tricia.Cotham@ncleg.net
Daughtry, Leo 26 R Leo.Daughtry@ncleg.net
Dixon, Jimmy 4 R Jimmy.Dixon@ncleg.net
Dobson, Josh 85 R Josh.Dobson@ncleg.net
Elmore, Jeffrey 94 R Jeffrey.Elmore@ncleg.net
Fisher, Susan 114 D Susan.Fisher@ncleg.net
Gill, Rosa 33 D Rosa.Gill@ncleg.net
Glazier, Rick 44 R Rick.Glazier@ncleg.net
Graham, Charles 47 D Charles.Graham@ncleg.net
Graham, George 12 D George.Graham@ncleg.net
Hall, Larry 29 D Larry.Hall@ncleg.net
Hardister, Jon 59 R Jon.Hardister@ncleg.net
Horn, Craig 68 R Craig.Horn@ncleg.net
Iler, Frank 17 R Frank.Iler@ncleg.net
Jeter, Charles 92 R Charles.Jeter@ncleg.net
Johnson, Linda (Chair) 83 D Linda.Johnson2@ncleg.net
Jones, Bert 65 R Bert.Jones@ncleg.net
Jordan, Jonathan 93 R Jonathan.Jordan@ncleg.net
Lambeth, Donny 75 R Donny.Lambeth@ncleg.net
Langdon, James (Chair) 28 R James.Langdon@ncleg.net
Lucas, Marvin 42 D Marvin.Lucas@ncleg.net
Luebke, Paul 30 D Paul.Luebke@ncleg.net
Malone, Chris 35 R Chris.Malone@ncleg.net
Martin, Grier 34 D Grier.Martin@ncleg.net
Martin, Susan 8 R Susan.Martin@ncleg.net
Meyer, Graig 50 D Graig.Meyer@ncleg.net
Michaux, Henry 31 D Mickey.Michaux@ncleg.net
Pittman, Larry 82 R Larry.Pittman@ncleg.net
Presnell, Michele 118 R Michele.Presnell@ncleg.net
Riddell, Dennis 64 R Dennis.Riddell@ncleg.net
Saine, Jason 97 R Jason.Saine@ncleg.net
Schaffer, Jacqueline 105 R Jacqueline.Schaffer@ncleg.net
Shepard, Phil 15 R Phil.Shepard@ncleg.net
Speciale, Michael 3 R Michael.Speciale@ncleg.net
Stam, Skip 37 R Paul.Stam@ncleg.net
Tine, Paul 6 D Paul.Tine@ncleg.net
Tolson, Joe 23 D Joe.Tolson@ncleg.net
Torbett, John 108 R John.Torbett@ncleg.net
Turner, Rena 84 R Rena.Turner@ncleg.net
Warren, Harry 77 R Harry.Warren@ncleg.net
Whitmire, Chris 113 R Chris.Whitmire@ncleg.net
Wilkins, W.A. 2 D Winkie.Wilkins@ncleg.net
Younts, Roger 80 R Roger.Younts@ncleg.net

 

Advertisements

About A.P. Dillon

A.P. Dillon is a freelance journalist and is currently writing at The North State Journal. She resides in the Triangle area of North Carolina. Find her on Twitter: @APDillon_
This entry was posted in Common Core, NCGA and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to NC Common Core Action Alert: Support HB 1061

  1. Sarah Wetherby says:

    When you click on the email addresses, a few of these come up wrong. For correct addresses, go here: http://www.ncleg.net/gascripts/members/memberList.pl?sChamber=House

    Like

Comments are closed.