NC Common Core Action Alert – SB 812

Common Core Fighters,

On Wednesday, June 4th, the NC General Assembly’s Senate Education/Higher Education Committee will be considering SB 812 – Replace Common Core To Meet NC’s Needs.  The meeting will be at 1 PM, room 544 of the Legislative Office Building.

Also being heard that morning by the same committee is SB 815 – Ensuring privacy of student records. This is one of a couple bills those of us working behind the scenes knew was coming and will address data collection concerns not covered in SB 812 / HB 1061.

ACTION ITEM:
Email each Senator BEFORE JUNE 4th and ask them to support SB 812 – Replace Common Core To Meet NC’s Needs.  I’ve provided a sample letter and the contact information for the Senate Education/Higher Education committee below.

For your reference or to see individual Senator contact information visit the Senate Education / Higher Education Committee Website LINK

Sample Letter:

 

Dear Senator _________,

I am a concerned citizen and I am writing to you today to urge you to support SB 812 – Replace Common Core to Meet NC’s Needs.

This bill will serve to replace the fundamentally flawed and experimental Common Core State Standards. The Common Core is an age and developmentally inappropriate set of standards which lack rigor and are unproven and untested.

Contrary to the Fordham Institute’s grading report, North Carolina did not have worse standards than Common Core. The Fordham Grading report is a sham. This Grading report has been called into question in multiple states, yet continues to be referenced as proof we need Common Core. It’s worth noting that Fordham Grading report was requested and funded by the Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation, who has pushed hundreds of millions into promoting Common Core.

The Common Core is copyrighted by two D.C. trade organizations. This copyright dictates NC cannot alter the standards, must adhere to them 100% and may only add up to 15% in new content. That new content will not be tested on.
Common Core Standards are not higher standards, they are experimental standards that are not under NC’s control and will cost the state taxpayers an estimated $641.9 million to keep and maintain them over the next 5 years.

Bottom line: We need appropriate and vetted NC State Standards. Our children deserve standards crafted in our state, are under the control of our state and that make sense for NC schools.

Become a champion for real education and for North Carolina’s children. Please support SB 812 – Replace Common Core to Meet NC’s Needs and help NC free itself from the increasing outside control that Common Core exerts on our state and our children.

Contact information:

Name District Party EMAIL
Soucek, Dan (Co-Chair) 45 R Dan.Soucek@ncleg.net
Tillman, Jerry (Co-Chair) 29 R Jerry.Tillman@ncleg.net
Barefoot, Chad (Vice-Chair) 18 R Chad.Barefoot@ncleg.net
Apodaca, Tom 48 R Tom.Apodaca@ncleg.net
Allran, Austin 42 R Austin.Allran@ncleg.net
Barringer, Tamara 17 R Tamara.Barringer@ncleg.net
Brown, Harry 6 R Harry.Brown@ncleg.net
Bryant, Angela 4 D Angela.Bryant@ncleg.net
Cook, Bill 1 R Bill.Cook@ncleg.net
Curtis, David 44 R David.Curtis@ncleg.net
Daniel, Warren 46 R Warren.Daniel@ncleg.net
Davis, Don 5 D Don.Davis@ncleg.net
Foushee, Valerie 23 D Valerie.Foushee@ncleg.net
Graham, Malcolm 40 D Malcolm.Graham@ncleg.net
Hartsell, Fletcher 36 R Fletcher.Hartsell@ncleg.net
Jenkins, Clark 3 D Clark.Jenkins@ncleg.net
Krawiec, Joyce 31 R Joyce.Krawiec@ncleg.net
Newton, Buck 11 R Buck.Newton@ncleg.net
Parmon, Earline 32 D Earline.Parmon@ncleg.net
Pate, Louis 7 R Louis.Pate@ncleg.net
Rabin, Ron 12 R Ron.Rabin@ncleg.net
Robinson, Gladys 28 D Gladys.Robinson@ncleg.net
Rucho, Bob 39 R Bob.Rucho@ncleg.net
Stein, Josh 16 D Josh.Stein@ncleg.net
Tarte, Jeff 41 R Jeff.Tarte@ncleg.net
Wade, Trudy 27 R Trudy.Wade@ncleg.net
Woodard, Mike 22 D Mike.Woodard@ncleg.net
Advertisements

About A.P. Dillon

A.P. Dillon is a freelance journalist and is currently writing at The North State Journal. She resides in the Triangle area of North Carolina. Find her on Twitter: @APDillon_
This entry was posted in Common Core, NCGA and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to NC Common Core Action Alert – SB 812

  1. Pingback: #HB1061 On House Calendar 6-4-14 | Lady Liberty 1885

  2. O'Lynda L. Walker says:

    I sent individual email to every Senator on the list and now I’m pushing the list for the bills in the House of Reps.

    Like

Comments are closed.